Navigating the Space Between Brilliance and Madness: A Counter-Narrative of Psychic Diversity

von freakoutcrazy

I’ll tell you a secret, Mad in America: before I ever get up and give a big talk like this I close my eyes and imagine that all my friends are there standing next to me. I take a deep breath and try to feel my connection to the larger movements for change I’m a part of. I think about all the people reading MIA looking for alternatives to the biopsychiatric paradigm and all the people who feel connected to The Icarus Project because it speaks to something deep inside of them that they’re not getting from the mainstream medical establishment. Then when I’m on stage I just tune to that frequency that’s way bigger than me, the same place I try to tune when I meditate, where I’m talking to the future from the past, smack in the middle of the present. I’m having a larger conversation with a whole bunch of people at once, unconstricted by time and space.

MORE

