The Indian Health Service’s Psychiatric Drug Habit & the ‘Heavy Influence of Biomedical Models’

von freakoutcrazy

For many years, I’ve been curious about the full extent of the Indian Health Service’s psychiatric drug habit.

In my last blog post, I noted promising signs of agency self-reflection at the Indian Health Service (IHS) within a recent behavioral health strategic plan statement recognizing “the heavy influence of biomedical models” and the need to talk about that dominant ideology in “various IHS health conferences and meetings.”1

I view this statement as ‘IHS-speak,’ by which the agency admits that it has a major psychiatric drug habit. I’ve worked alongside people trying to resolve drug and alcohol issues for about 27 years, and am encouraged by this development because often the first step to recovery from addiction is admitting that one has ‘a problem.’

MORE

